This post is part of the Chennai Bloggers Club’s CBC VIBGYOR BLOG TAG where some of us will write a post on the colors of VIBGYOR each day starting 1st of September to the 7th of September.

The color theme for today’s post is ORANGE, and dont we all remember the orange (kaavi) clad sadhu’s giving spiritual talks and sacred ropes and ash to solve any problem when a devotee goes and visits them? Is this one such instance? Well, read along …

We never had a music teacher at school for quite sometime. So we students used to get together after school and practise ourselves for group singing competitions. One such regular was Bharath Vikas Parishad, where they generally give songs before hand and we have to choose from one of them.

On the day of the competition, we had all gathered in the venue and were whispering planning last minute. Suddenly the noise in the hall died down and a woman donned in orange (kaavi) robes had entered the hall followed by her retinue. They all walked right to the front row and got seated. The day’s events started only after she gave a go – “should be very important person huh!”, I thought.

The practice paid edho-konjam reward and we successfully completed performing during our slot. Then we broke for lunch and there was a gap of half an hour before results were to be announced. As usually happens, the MC said that the stage was ours, anybody can volunteer to sing or mimic or show their talent (technically, they wanted the crowd to be entertained).

It wasn’t exactly voluntary in my case, as my friends compelled and pushed me to go and sing something solo. One person actually went over to the announcement desk and noted down my name and school, so I had no choice but to go on stage when my name was called! Extempore singing it was, almost 😛

Standing at the podium and blinking, I had just a few seconds to choose a song and start singing before the crowd might most probably start jeering. I started off “Ramam bhaje Shyamam manasa…” and somehow managed to complete the song, though my hands were shivering all the while 😦

Here comes the best part. Remember the retinue of the samiyar woman I told? One of those guys called me and questioned me things that almost fit to a resume. Then he took me to this kaavi-clad lady and said, “Amma, ippo paadinadhu indha ponnu dhan…” (This is the girl who sang just now…)

That lady stared at me for a few seconds, then turned to her sidekick and nodded. He opened a manja pai and gave her a box. She took some sacred ash (viboothi) and smeared on my forehead, and said “Ennul irundha iraivana nee ezhuppitta… Nalla iru!” (You aroused the God in me, bless you) 😀 😛

You can imagine how much I would have been ridiculed by my friends. You know what they refer to the song till date as? Viboothi Paatu!!! Thus this is the story of how a song Ramam bhaje Shyamam manasa (referring to Rama / Krishna) got the identity of ‘viboothi paatu’. The irony!

– Until next,

Vid 🙂

