When a book has been out there for ages (since 1987!), still being talked about, and sells a 65 million copies – it should definitely be worth the read, huh. I just did read The Alchemist.

A wise friend once said that the book is a collection of quotes. Well, if so, it is only fitting to talk in terms of them.

The prologue is an amazing story of a lake and a beautiful youth, who dies falling into the lake when admiring his beauty. The lake says,ย “I weep for Narcissus, but I never noticed that Narcissus was beautiful. I weep because, each time he knelt beside my banks, I could see in the depths of his eyes, my own beauty reflected.”

True, that. We generally react only to those things that we can relate ourselves to. “The Art of Loving” called it self – love; “The Alchemist” calls it Narcissus. If you do not agree, go check your status/blog post likes and comments.

“If you want something very badly with all your heart, the whole world will conspire in getting it to you.”

The entire book is all about this very quote… On how to follow your dream. Ahem, seriously? Maybe not always… Maybe not all of them. It happens, when you can conveniently get missed in the list of order of write ups in a certain place. The universe is certainly bound to miss you!

“Its called the principle of favorability. Or beginner’s luck.”

Yes. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

“Everyone has his or her way of learning things.”

Yes. ๐Ÿ™‚

“Its not what enters men’s mouth that’s evil; it is what comes out of their mouth that is.”

Oh, I so loved this line!!

“Where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

Was wondering where I had read this already… And that was written on the Dumbledore’s grave in Godric Hollow!!! ๐Ÿ˜›

“Everything that happens once can never happen again.ย But everything that happens twice will surely happen a third time.”

Okay, noted. Just one doubt… How on earth does it happen a second time?! Would be glad if someone throws light on this.

TheAlchemist

On the whole, I think the book’s ambiguity has so much to say in how it gets interpreted and likeable. I will definitely not have understood it the way you did. And there was a lot left unsaid.

Finally, I just have one piece of advice:

If you dream of your destined-treasure-that you have to start looking for, and you have already read The Alchemist – wake up, take a shovel, and start digging right where you slept!! Easiest solution to find the treasure, I say ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜›

– Until next,

Vid ๐Ÿ™‚

