This post is part of the Chennai Bloggers Club’s CBC VIBGYOR BLOG TAG where some of us will write a post on the colors of VIBGYOR each day starting 1st of September to the 7th of September.

The color theme for today’s post is supposedly VIOLET, and I am writing about PURPLE 😀 An account of my 2nd experience with Swarasadhana; first being this.

Purple is one of my favorites and it signifies all these:

Royalty – Prince Rama Verma, the teacher of the Paatu Pattarai I had been today, is a descendant of the Maharaja Swathi Thirunal and Raja Ravi Varma from Kerala.

Richness – Everything I learnt today, be it the raga, swara excercises, songs, overflowing information on anything related to music, voice culture tips – spelt rich and class.

Quality that demands respect –Sir’s patience and his way of imparting knowledge such that a student with any kind of musical (or non-musical) background will understand.

Conceit – Not exactly on the negative note, I saw pure narcissm in a few songs that were Mangalampalli Balamurali Krishna’s compositions. Apparently his love for his own name is very profound in his compositions – atleast in the ones I learnt over the weekend. ‘Murali’ is the most artistically accentuated phrase and he sings it with so much improvisations and love.

Noble people don’t have usual rules – There was this raga I got introduced to called Lavangi. There is an unsaid rule that a raga should have atleast 5 swaras in the scale. This one had just four (check the link video). For someone who had no idea of the word before today, at the end of the session, I was seeing patterns of Sa Ri Ma Da everywhere around me like the Matrix Neo – such was the greatness of the tutelage!

1309_Swati_Tirunal

– Until next,

Vid 🙂